Inspiration for My Next Blog Project


I can’t believe that I have only have 33 days left for this project.  At the beginning I wasn’t sure if I’d keep it going, but I did. 🙂  It seems that I just began a few weeks ago. 

So I’ve been thinking about what I want to do next after this project and thanks to my friend, Christopher Phillips, who recently posted the following excerpt,  I have confirmation of what I was thinking about all along.  The words in this statement made me cry and really spoke to me and I can’t wait to see what God gives to me to share over the next year.  So I can’t really say what it will look like specifically.  I just know that I want my photography and my blog to be inspired by God to encourage and uplift people and to allow others to see God through the beauty he has created.

We need more people to shine God’s light because light ALWAYS overpowers the darkness.

In order to communicate the message entrusted to her by Christ, the church needs art.  Art must make perceptible, and as far as possible attractive, the world of the spirit, or the invisible, of God.  It must therefore translate a unique capacity to take one or other facet of the message and translate it into colors, shapes, and sounds which nourish the intuition of those who look or listen.  It does so without emptying the message itself of its transcendent value and its aura of mystery…  In Christ, God has reconciled the world to himself.  All believers are called to bear witness to this; but it is up to you, men and women who have given your lives to art, to declare with all the wealth of your ingenuity that in Christ the world is redeemed: the human person is redeemed, the human body is redeemed, and the whole creation which, according to Saint Paul, ‘awaits impatiently the revelation of the children of God’ is redeemed…  This is your task.  Humanity in every age, and even today, looks to works of art to shed light upon its path and destiny…  Beauty is a key to the mystery and a call to transcendence.  It is an invitation to savor life and to dream of the future…  Artists of the world, may your many different paths all lead to that infinite Ocean of beauty where wonder becomes awe, exhilaration, unspeakable joy.

Excerpt from
“The Letter of His Holiness Pope John Paul II to Artists”

3 responses to “Inspiration for My Next Blog Project

  1. Wow, Jan! That is so cool. Congrats on finishing up 365 soon. I have been going through my blog/photos to create a Blurb book so I have a hard copy of everything. It has been fun to re-read your comments and encouragement over the last year or so. Thanks for being with me on this journey and I wish you the best as you continue on yours! Sharing God’s love is such a worthy effort and you are doing so well. Thanks! Kristin

  2. this is lovely. I love photographs that capture the beauty of wood

Leave a Reply

Jan

Bookmark/share a post

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

free counters
