1 PicADay Project: Day 229


Lady Liberty Seagull

We took the boat over to Liberty Island to visit The Statue of  Liberty.  It was very, very cold, windy, rainy and gray.  But it was still beautiful.  When we rounded the island and she was standing there so tall and sure, I got a little tear in my eye.  I love my country and I love what she stands for.  Every Amercian should have a chance to see her up close.  (I’ll post a photo of her later)

As we were walking (and shivering) around the island  I saw this little seagull who seemed to be guarding Lady Liberty.  I snapped this photo and edited it in Picnik.  I LOVE BIRDS!

4 responses to “1 PicADay Project: Day 229

  1. Soooo sweet! The pose is precious! 🙂 I LOVE birds TOO!

  2. Jan, thanks for stopping by! We took our gang on a trip to NYC last spring, too. The boat ride in June is a little warmer…! I agree that the experience is very moving, though. Here is one of my pics from Ellis Island: http://www.crapmanagement.com/2009/06/ellis-island.html

    Nice capture of the bird!

  3. cigi

    I love birds, too. And I had the same reaction the first (and only) time I saw the Statue of Liberty in person. Moved to tears.

Leave a Reply

Jan

Bookmark/share a post

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

free counters
