1 PicADay Project: Day 97


Here’s the third photo I’ve posted of an insect.  (or insect shell in this case) We had a few cicadas here in Tennessee this year and I found this shell on a tree near my childrens’ school.  I usually like ‘pretty pictures’ but I thought this one was interesting and clear.

15 cicada broods have been identified by Scientist and are described using Roman numerals. Brood XIX, 13-year cicada distribution last emerged in Tennessee in May 1998.  Scientists project them to re-emerge in 2011.   This Brood was very large.  I remember not wanting to even go outside because it looked like an Egyptian Plague.  They were swarming and making noise that was almost deafening.  I remember going to the post office one day with my husband and I refused to get out of the car.  The cicadas were all over the place.  One lady was doing the ‘cicada dance’ from her car to the post office door screaming the whole way… No thank you.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Jan

Bookmark/share a post

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
free counters
