1 PicADay Project: Day 36


Got my Canon 50mm lens today, so I persuaded Ginger to be my guinea pig.  I think she did a great job!  Here’s my favorite.  I don’t have any idea what the settings were for this or how my camera really works yet, but I really liked this one.   It’s called “Ginger Ooooohhhh”.

1 PicADay Photo #36 (Ginger oooohh)wm

9 responses to “1 PicADay Project: Day 36

  1. Great pic Baby…you’re so fricking talented!!!!! Soo proud of you!!!!!!!

  2. Jan, whaddya mean I did a great job? It is all in the skill of the photographer! This is more proof that there is a big difference between a person who takes pictures and a true photographer. You, my friend, are the latter. You actually made me look good & captured what a goofball I am! LOL!! 🙂

  3. patti d

    you my dear are doing awesome with your pics wow I hope I CAN BE JUST LIKE YOU SOMEDAY!
    THAT IS WHY I CALLED YOU TO TELL YOU HOW AWESOME YOU ARE! LOVE YOU AND MISS YOU PD

  4. That’s a nice shot. The lens is excellent. It’s great for portraits, but also excellent for low light or evening shots. With lenses that have smaller apertures, in order to achieve proper exposure you have to use longer shutter speeds when shooting in low light, which risks blurring due to hand shake. The faster f/1.8 allows far more light in, so you can shoot dark shots with faster shutter speeds and still get proper exposure.

    And if you want to shoot a close up of a flower, but have everything behind it slightly out of focus (called a shallow depth of field), then the 50mm f/1.8 is a perfect choice.

    Here’s a short article that helps explain it better:
    http://www.shutterbug.com/features/0899sb_rediscover/

    And here’s a short video:

  5. Beautiful. Both the shot and the subject are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Jan

Bookmark/share a post

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
free counters
